insanity diaries – day 20


This will be a short entry. I’ve had a little too much fun over the past couple days and while it’s great to let loose, I’m secretly mad. Drinking too much and staying up to late is like a punch in the face to any progress I’ve made. I don’t even want to remind myself and Google how bad alcohol is for your muscles and metabolism, never mind feeling like crap the next day.

But, it’s important to be with friends and connecting with people you’re close to is a huge part of living well, even if it does involve bottles (plural) of wine. So I could argue going overboard is worth it but I know I can have fun without going too far with food and drink.

Aside from my 2 night diet detour, Week 3 of Insanity is complete! I’m currently enjoying my Off day and recovering from a late night on the town. Now that I’ve done each workout in the first set a few times, I’m noticing my endurance has increased and the moves that were previously killer are easier to make it through. Like Hit the Floors – a week ago I barely made it through 30 seconds but yesterday they didn’t feel as crazy and I pushed to get through all 3 circuits. But don’t get me wrong, there are multiple points during each of these workouts where you’re working so hard you don’t know your name, but what makes it bearable is that the total workout is less than 40 minutes.  And it usually goes fast.

There is a day each week where you are supposed to do one of the workouts and then Cardio Abs, which is a video I tried last week. I haven’t exactly been doing it that way, but I have been doing this video after the Recovery workout to kick up the intensity a bit. The warm up in Cardio Abs is all high intensity plyo moves that you know from the other workouts so it’s a great quick cardio blast. I usually don’t plan ahead and give myself enough time in the morning to do a 40 minute workout and then another 20 minutes. I think I need to try it this week since I’m feeling progress and should see if I can handle it. It’s been a while since I’ve worked out for a full hour!

I only have 1 more week of alternating the workouts I’ve been doing. Then, I am supposed to have what I’m thinking of as a pseudo-recovery week where I do the same video every day (Core, Cardio & Balance) before I jump back into the second set of workouts that are longer and I suspect more advanced. I’m entertaining the idea of starting the part 2 workouts early – perhaps during my recovery week I will start alternating with the new set. I haven’t watched C, C & B yet, but I’m not a big fan of doing the same thing every day.

So I am trying to be hopeful that I’ll rebound rather quickly from these past couple days of diet plan faux pas. I feel bloated and soft, not even remotely as lean as I had been feeling. Hopefully if I did take 2 steps back, it was after I had taken 4 steps forward. I need to always make sure to be aware of the discipline I can have and remind myself that feeling fit and healthy is way more rewarding than some chips or another glass of wine. And with a vacation to Florida in less than a month that’s enough motivation to behave from here on out!

2 Comments on “insanity diaries – day 20”

  1. […] I mentioned last week that I hadn’t been incorporating Cardio Abs at the end of some of the high impact workouts like I should, but rather adding it at the end of the Recovery Workout. So this week I pumped it up and did the 20 minute or so ab workout after two days – Wednesday and Saturday. It’s not the craziest video ever, but after 40 minutes of high intensity interval training (HIIT) and when you’re dripping sweat all over the floor you feel it to say the least. […]

  2. blengas says:

    Thank you for this great piece of content. Best Regards


Leave a Reply

